Self portrait, age 4.


My junior kindergarten class had a shared tape/record player that we were allowed to use, provided we shared the music with everyone.  I was really in love with the Sharon, Lois and Brahm record that I was listening to and was more than a little hesitant to give it up when my turn was over. When I was (gently) forced by my teacher to take the headphones off and pass them off to another girl, who seemed only half as interested, I was angry. I plotted my moves inside my active imagination and gleefully gave the headphones to the waiting child. As soon as she started listening to the music I simply reached across and turned the volume ALL the way up. She shrieked, threw off the headphones and I got in trouble for the first time of my elementary school career.

Whatcha thinkin?

