My Oh Monday

I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis, everything from random individuals to vintage shop collectives. It’s a way to get inspired, learn new things and realise that my life is not the most interesting out there. Keeps you in check, y’know? I love knowing what gets people excited; what they feel is worth the effort of posting for the world to see.

Thus, I am going to being posting a weekly write up called My Oh Monday, with five things that inspired/humoured/annoyed me the week before. I feel like it’s something that I would enjoy reading, and so perhaps others will too?

I realise that today is Tuesday. Let’s just pretend it’s yesterday and imagine you’re just beginning your day….

1.  Gogi Grant = The Wayward Wind

“The wayward wind is a restless wind, a restless wind that yearns to wander….”
This song is one of my perennial favourites. I’m constantly floating along, perpetually travelling. Seeing new places and meeting people is very important to my existence. I pilfer inspiration from the smallest fragments of conversation with people I find interesting. This song reminds me of amazing mixed tapes and rolling along highways with the closest ones in my life. It’s always in a playlist somewhere on my iPod, and it is my go to get-happy song.

2. Weird Al Yankovic – Live in Buffalo

I headed down to Buffalo with an American friend to relive our childhood nerdom and watch Weird Al Yankovic. It was (seriously) an amazing show and he and his band played for three hours solid! Although I’d never been in a room with that many white-n-nerdy males before, I left feeling inspired that someone could continue to do what he loves and remain successful at it thirty years later.

3. “Thank You For Smoking” by Christopher Buckley

I’d heard about this book, or rather the film that came out a few years ago, but had never actually finished it. I found it on my friend’s bookshelf while in NY last week, and he graciously lent it to me. I’m about 3/4 of the way through and totally enjoying it. I’ll have to find someone that hasn’t seen the movie and convince them to watch it with me next week. Any takers?

4. Toronto City Council and the Bike Lanes

Photo: Christopher Drost/Torontoist.

The saga continues. On 13 July Toronto’s city council voted to keep the Jarvis (a main artery for bike traffic in the east end of the city) lanes for a year, but remove them once there are lanes in place on Sherbourne. This is not the worst, but it’s certainly not the best outcome of all the meetings. It’s been a heated battle between City Hall, cyclists and motorists over the bike lane issues. Our current mayor, Rob Ford, is a little bit on the (motorised) commuter side and suffice to say he has a lot of opposition from the residents of the downtown core. Torontoist has a number of frequently updated articles on the whole debaucle, I encourage you to go educate yourself on the situation.

5. This Sign (Found on the way to Kearney, ON) 

Seriously, what is better than a hand painted portrait of the two owners of a Texaco?


Whatcha thinkin?

